Nine of New Jersey’s public schools earned the Blue Ribbon designation for high student achievement and quality programs, the U.S. Department of Education (USDOE) announced recently.

The award is the highest recognition bestowed by the USDOE.

National Blue Ribbon Schools are honored at an annual awards ceremony in Washington, D.C., where each receives a plaque and flag to signify its exemplary status. Details of the schools’ achievements are provided on the USDOE website.

The nine New Jersey public schools awarded the 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools designation include:

Blue Ribbon Schools in New Jersey, 2017

CountySchool NameSchool District
AtlanticEugene A. Tighe Middle SchoolMargate City School District
MiddlesexCheesequake Elementary SchoolOld Bridge Township School District
BergenBerkeley Avenue Elementary SchoolWestwood Regional School District
SomersetWoodland SchoolWarren Township School District
MercerLittlebrook Elementary SchoolPrinceton Public School District
HudsonAcademy I Middle SchoolJersey City School District
MorrisBriarcliff Middle SchoolMountain Lakes Public School District
MonmouthSea Girt Elementary SchoolSea Girt Borough School District
UnionAcademy for Allied Health SciencesUnion County Vocational-Technical School District