It’s not too early to consider nominating a fellow school board member as New Jersey’s Board Member of the Year.

NJSBA is currently seeking nominees for its 12th annual Board Member of the Year award. The program recognizes a local school board member whose work exemplifies commitment not only to the education of the children of his or her community, but also to public education throughout the state of New Jersey. The deadline for receipt of nominations is 4:30 p.m. September 2, 2016.

NJSBA established the Board Member of the Year award in 2004 to recognize the contributions of the state’s local school board members. Given annually, the award honors an individual board member for exemplary leadership, dedication to his or her development as a board member, participation in efforts to advance educational governance at the local, county and state levels, and a strong commitment to the children of New Jersey.

Past winners include:

2015 Helen E. Kirsch, Berkeley Heights Board of Education
2014 Peggy Saslow, New Milford Board of Education
2013 Kevin E. Ciak, Sayreville Board of Education
2012 Debra Roosen, North Hunterdon-Voorhees Regional Board of Education
2011 Diane Holzberg, Demarest Board of Education
2010 Linda Bond-Nelson, North Plainfield Board of Education
2009 Dale G. Caldwell, New Brunswick Board of Education
2008 Cynthia Auberger, Vernon Township Board of Education
2007 Cathy Moncrief, Lindenwold Board of Education
2006 Marie Hakim, Clifton Board of Education
2005 Maria Alamo, Nutley Board of Education

Nominees must have five consecutive years of experience as a board of education member and must hold the Certificated Board Member designation through the NJSBA Board Member Academy.

The winner will be recognized during the 2016 Workshop conference, October 25-27.

A nomination form is available online here.


The New Jersey School Boards Association is a federation of the state’s local boards of education and includes the majority of New Jersey’s charter schools as associate members. NJSBA provides training, advocacy and support to advance public education and promote the achievement of all students through effective governance.