NJSBA urges board members and administrators to consider nominating a colleague who has been an outstanding trustee of public education for New Jersey’s Board Member of the Year 2016. The award recognizes a local school board member whose work exemplifies commitment not only to the education of the children of his or her community, but to public education throughout the state of New Jersey.The deadline for receipt of nominations is 4:30 p.m., Sept. 2, 2016. NJSBA established the Board Member of the Year in 2004 to recognize the contributions of the state’s local school board members. Given annually, the award honors an individual board member for exemplary leadership, dedication to his or her development as a board member, participation in efforts to advance education governance at the local, county and state levels, and strong commitment to the children of New Jersey. Past winners include:

2015 Helen E. Kirsch, Berkeley Heights Board of Education
2014 Peggy Saslow, New Milford Board of Education
2013 Kevin E. Ciak, Sayreville Board of Education
2012 Debra Roosen, North Hunterdon-Voorhees Regional Board of Education
2011 Diane Holzberg, Demarest Board of Education
2010 Linda Bond-Nelson, North Plainfield Board of Education
2009 Dale G. Caldwell, New Brunswick Board of Education
2008 Cynthia Auberger, Vernon Township Board of Education
2007 Cathy Moncrief, Lindenwold Board of Education
2006 Marie Hakim, Clifton Board of Education
2005 Maria Alamo, Nutley Board of Education

Nominees must have five consecutive years of experience as a board of education member and must hold NJSBA Certificated Board Member designation. The winner will be recognized at the 2016 Workshop conference being held on October 25-27 at the Atlantic City Convention Center. A nomination form is available online here.