NJSBA recently honored 22 local board members who have earned the designation of Certified Board Leader (CBL) through the Association’s Board Member Academy.

The Board Member Academy was established in 1992 to provide formal training for the state’s 4,800 local board of education members. Each year, the Academy offers a wide variety of courses to promote effective board governance.

The Certified Board Leader is the highest level of individual certification available from  NJSBA’s Board Member Academy, and represents an exemplary degree of effort and commitment to training in school board leadership. To achieve the designation, a person must first obtain the designation of Certificated Board Member, and then earn the Master Board Member certification. The candidate must then earn 20 credits beyond Master Board Member, for a total of 60 credits, and serve for a minimum of one year as a board or county officer. Board members must have attended academy programs in a wide variety of topic areas, and must have participated in county school boards association meetings, NJSBA Delegate Assembly meetings and NJSBA Workshop conferences.

This year’s Certified Board Leaders include:

  • Robert Iannacone, Galloway Township (Atlantic)
  • Alice Comer, Northern Valley Regional (Bergen)
  • Sheryl Eaton, River Vale (Bergen)
  • Barbara Garand (Northern Highlands Regional (Bergen)
  • Diane Holzberg, Demarest (Bergen)
  • Diane Jones, Rutherford (Bergen)
  • Barbara Steuert, Glen Rock (Bergen)
  • Peter Calvo, Glassboro (Gloucester)
  • Anthony Grafton, Clayton (Gloucester)
  • Rita Heins, Lindenwold (Camden)
  • John Kendall, Haddon Township (Camden)
  • Joyce Miller, Gibbsboro (Camden)
  • Martha Wilson, Camden City (Camden)
  • Jason Jones, Neptune Township (Monmouth)
  • Albert Miller, Howell Township (Monmouth)
  • Karen Cortellino, Montville Township (Morris)
  • Donald Webster Jr., Manchester Township (Ocean)
  • Linda Bond-Nelson, North Plainfield (Somerset)
  • Robert Brandt, North Warren Regional (Warren)
  • Ernest Gallant, Lopatcong (Warren)
  • Karen Graf, Washington Township (Warren)
  • William Taggart, Lopatcong (Warren)