Only a few weeks remain before the Sept. 4 deadline for nominations for the 2015 New Jersey School Board Member of the Year.

Each year, NJSBA recognizes a local school board member whose work exemplifies commitment not only to the education of the children of his or her community, but to public education throughout the state of New Jersey.

We encourage you to nominate a fellow board member who you believe has been an outstanding trustee of public education.

The Association established the Board Member of the Year award in 2004 to recognize the contributions of the state’s local school board members.  Given annually, the award honors an individual board member for exemplary leadership, dedication to his or her development as a board member, participation in efforts to advance education governance at the local, county and state levels, and a strong commitment to the children of New Jersey.

Past winners include:

2014 Peggy Saslow,  New Milford Board of Education

2013 Kevin E. Ciak, Sayreville Board of Education

2012 Debra Roosen, North Hunterdon-Voorhees Regional Board of Education

2011 Diane Holzberg, Demarest Board of Education

2010 Linda Bond-Nelson, North Plainfield Board of Education

2009 Dale G. Caldwell, New Brunswick Board of Education

2008 Cynthia Auberger, Vernon Township Board of Education

2007 Cathy Moncrief, Lindenwold Board of Education

2006 Marie Hakim, Clifton Board of Education

2005 Maria Alamo, Nutley Board of Education

Nominees must have five consecutive years experience as a board of education member and must hold NJSBA’s Certificated Board Member designation. The winner will be recognized at the NJSBA Workshop 2015 in October. The deadline for receipt of nominations is 4:30 p.m. Sept. 4, 2015.

For more information and a nomination form, click on Nominations Now Being Accepted for New Jersey Board Member of the Year Award or contact Ann Marie Smith at (609) 278-5209 or [email protected].